Well, it happened.


That’s right. Today (well yesterday, whatever) I did it. The ONE THING I’ve feared I would do since May 21st, 2009.

Yep, totally threw away my engagement ring.

The most expensive, most important piece of jewelry I’ve ever owned, the only ring I managed to wear for more than five minutes without misplacing slipped – nay, PLUNGED into the bathroom garbage at work. While drying them (engagement and wedding) with paper towels, I neglected to ensure that BOTH rings came off the towels before tossing said towels into the trash.

Now I’ve discussed my tolerable levels of gross in the past. A garbage can is out of the question, especially a BATHROOM garbage can filled in damp paper towels. Maybe one day I’ll tell you all about my unnatural aversion to most paper products (and it has NOTHING to do with the environment). But, you know, standards change when the tin can filled with wet crumpled nasties just ate a three thousand dollar platinum diamond ring.

Yes, my ring IS that bad ass, thankyouverymuch.

Long story short, I found it half way to the bottom of the can, which wasn’t THAT bad considering most of the towels were mine, cursed a few words and said a little pray all in the same breath, grateful to have the experience behind me and to know that it should NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN.

I hope. Because there are TOTALLY worse place to toss a ring worth three grand.

Leave a Reply

